Go Spike Big Weekend

Big Weekend

2016 will see two Go Spike Big Weekends - Two Weekends Twice the Fun! 

Following a hugely successful 2015, the Go Spike Big Weekend is back with a bang for 2016. This year we’re aiming for a record breaking 100 unique events. Over 80 events took place in 2015 with around 3000 people experiencing volleyball.  All of our Event Organisers were vital to the success of Big Weekend.

The first Go Spike Big Weekend took place over the late May Bank Holiday weekend,  our second Big Weekend of 2016 is taking place: 

August Bank Holiday – Saturday 27th to Monday 29th August

All Event Organisers will receive a free Event Organisers Pack with posters, flyers, a Volleyball England banner and other resources to ensure you can promote your come and try event. All events will be added to the Go Spike, Volleyball England, and external event finder websites.

So why not throw open your club doors this May and August for the Go Spike Big Weekend? This is a golden way for you to show your community why volleyball is the best sport to play this summer. 

Sign Up

To take part, all you have to do is complete the online Registration Form by clicking here

The Registation Form closes for sign up on Friday 5th August.

The Go Spike Online Toolkit

Various resources are available to help you set up and run a successful event during the Go Spike Big Weekends.


All Event Organisers will be asked to complete date capture information from their event.  This helps to provide insight regarding the type of individuals who are playing volleyball.  Data capture will be availalble via Survey Monkey and paper forms will be posted out with each Event Organiser's Event Box.  Further information regarding data capture will available closer to the August Bank Holiday weekend. 


We hope this Poster and Flyer will be useful to advertise your event in the local community.
You are able to add all your event details to the Editable Poster, then print it off and display it in prominent places to promote your event to your local community. 


The Big Weekend logo can be used on your websites, social media channels and press releases.  


Feel free to use these banners on your websites, social media and email signatures. To use the banners click on the link, right click to save the image and add to your social media.  Don't forget to use the Big Weekend hashtag, #GoSpikeBW16 in all your messages. 

Another great way to spread the news about your event is to send a press release out,  below is a template that you may find useful

Join In have put together a useful Social Media Guide with hints and tips on how to get the best out of your social media.



For any questions regarding the Go Spike Big Weekend, please contact Samantha Harding, Adult Participation Manager on s.harding@volleyballengland.org or 01509 227742, or contact your local Volleyball England Relationships Manager: 

Greater Manchester - Steve Kerr - s.kerr@volleyballengland.org

Teeside, Tyne and Wear - Samantha Jamieson - s.jamieson@volleyballengland.org

Black Country & Staffordshire - Liz Fletcher - l.fletcher@volleyballengland.org

Essex & East London - Rachel Laybourne - r.laybourne@volleyballengland.org

Dorset & Hampshire - Mark Simmons - m.simmons@volleyballengland.org