Volleyball England Annual Awards Evening

2nd May 2012

Volleyball England Annual Awards Evening

The Volleyball England Annual Awards Evening was well and truly the social event of the year for the volleyball community.  Over 200 players, volunteers and officials gathered for the evening at the National Volleyball Centre to celebrate the many achievements of the 2011-2012 season.

This year’s event built on the success of last year’s Annual Awards Evening and the more formal feel was maintained to give fitting tribute to the huge contribution made by so many to our sport.  Guests enjoyed a sumptuous three course meal, Awards presentations and a disco.  Awards were presented by Audrey Copper (GB Women's Coach and Atlanta 1996 Olympian), Harry Brokking (GB Men's Coach), Ucal Ashman (Hall of Fame) and Bob Smith (Hall of Fame).  Four of the GB Women's Team also attended the event.  An additional attraction this year was a professional photographer who took photographs of all guests during the evening – these will be available to order soon.

Trophies were given to the NVL winners and Most Valued Players.  Representatives from Leeds Carnegie Men’s team and Team Northumbria Women’s team came to celebrate their victory at the Super 8 Play Off weekend again.  As did East London Lynx and Essex Pirates who won the Tier 1 and Tier 2 Sitting Grand Prix series that weekend too.

One of the highlights of the evening was finding out who won the coveted volunteer, officiating and club awards.  The assessment panel for these felt that this year’s nominees were some of the strongest yet, which made their decision very difficult.  The winners are as follows:

Young Volunteer of the Year - Robyn Wisdom

New Volunteer of the Year - Cary Wicks

Volunteer of the Year - Katie Dolan

Long Service Award - Paul Lamb

Young Official of the Year - Sam Dunbavin

Services to Refereeing - Ray Capewell

Photograph of the Year - Colin Bussey   

School-Club Links of the Year - Team Southampton

Club of the Year - Ashcombe Volleyball Club

Lifetime Achievement Award – Steve Evans and Nick Shaffery

Peter Wardale Memorial Award – Brian Stalker 

Details of next year’s Annual Awards Evening will be released in the next few months.  Make sure you don’t miss out on the fun!

Photograph Credit: Linda Gore Photography


Volleyball England Annual Awards Evening