Nominations open for 2018 Annual Awards

13th February 2018

Nominations open for 2018 Annual Awards

“A great ambassador…passionate and persistent…dedicated and enthusiastic…a shining example…” were just some of the words used to describe the 2017 Annual Awards winners. Does a special individual or club within volleyball spring to mind when you read these words?

If so, then why not nominate them for one of the nine categories that comprise the 2018 Volleyball England Annual Awards, which have launched today. The Annual Awards are a prestigious and long-standing event in the calendar and are a public way to recognise the sustained and valued contribution of coaches, referees, volunteers and clubs to creating a fantastic environment for volleyball in England.

Nominations can be made online here until the closing deadline of Monday 12 March, 2018 by explaining to the expert panel of judges why that person merits an award. To help you write your nomination a full list of category descriptors, which outlines exactly what the judges are looking for in the winner of each category, can be read here. The nine award categories are:

  • Young Official of the Year
  • Young Volunteer of the Year
  • Young Coach of the Year
  • Referee of the Year
  • Volunteer of the year
  • Coach of the Year
  • HEVO of the Year
  • Long Service Award
  • Club of the Year

As pioneered in 2017, the award winners will be invited to attend the National Cup Finals in April where they will be presented with their award in front of the packed finals crowd. Additionally, the award winners will play a pivotal role in the post-match ceremonies for the Cup and Shield Finals, taking to the court to present the hard-fought medals and trophies to the competing teams.

“The Annual Awards are a very special event,” says Fiona Sweetman, the Volleyball England project lead for the Annual Awards. “It puts those people who work tirelessly in the background to help others play volleyball, at centre stage to thank them for everything they do.

“There are so many passionate and dedicated people in the volleyball community. Be sure to nominate the individual you know who deserves an award to show that their efforts are appreciated.”

Echoing the 2016-17 season, the 2017-18 NVL league winners will be presented with their medals and trophies across the Super 8s Finals weekend of May 5and 6, 2018.  

For more information about the Annual Awards, including a list of previous winners, please visit the webpage or contact Fiona Sweetman.

Main pic: Ludwik Kowalewski presents a trophy at the National Cup Finals presents a trophy after he was crowned Referee of the Year in 2017 Annual Awards.

Nominations open for 2018 Annual Awards