Shortlist for Annual Awards has been made

15th April 2016

Shortlist for Annual Awards has been made

The votes have been counted and we’re delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2016 Annual Awards, sponsored by Welcomm Communications Limited.

The independent judging panel met this week to shortlist nominees in each of the award categories. There were 136 nominations in total so thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate deserving individuals, clubs and events.

The winners in each category will be announced at the Annual Awards Evening at the National Volleyball Centre, Kettering on Saturday May 7th.

Tickets are just £25 for the three-course gala dinner and can be purchased here

Do come and support us on this fantastic occasion to celebrate the achievements of the volleyball community.

Please note ticket sales will close at 11:59pm on Wednesday 20th April.


Towergate Insurance Young Coach of the Year Award 

  • Jack Deaton
  • Katie Lomas
  • Roman Neveykin

Maroon Print Children's Coach of the Year Award        

  • Helen Britten
  • Ian Clews
  • Sean Poole

 Legends Sport Participation Coach of the Year Award 

  • Anthony Laffan
  • Ben Fairweather
  • Justin Whitbread      

Qdos Consulting Performance Development Coach of the Year Award         

  • David Goodchild
  • Denise Austin
  • Raffaele Simonte

Fluid Creative Media Overall Coach of the Year

To be announced on the evening with the winner selected from the above shortlisted nominees in all coaching categories

Young Volunteer of the Year Award         

  • Jasmine Bigaouette
  • Joel Matthews
  • Michael Bryan        

Holiday Inn Express Volunteer of the Year Award          

  • Claire Cottrell
  • Steven Smith
  • Sue Sowden      

Sideout Long Service Award         

  • Anna Mottershaw
  • Jurek Jankowski
  • Tim Godson       

Horizon 24/7 TV Young Official of the Year Award         

  • Dainius Grendelis
  • Jess Thompson          

Arena Sports Referee of the Year Award 

  • Joseph Gore
  • Marcelo Radovan
  • Richard Burbedge    

Services to Refereeing        

  • Brian Stalker
  • Zbigniew Behnke       

Sportset Club of the Year Award  

  • DARKSTAR Volleyball
  • South Hants Volleyball Club
  • Tamworth Spartans           

Mizuno HEVO of the Year Award  

  • Joel Matthews
  • Kieran Good
  • Sandra Kabisch        

Welcomm Communications Limited Event of the Year Award  

  • All Nations Volleyball
  • Glow-in-the-Dark Volleyball
  • London Legacy Volleyball Cup


Shortlist for Annual Awards has been made