NVL: Title winners for 2019/20 season confirmed

21st May 2020

NVL: Title winners for 2019/20 season confirmed

The 2019/20 National Volleyball League (NVL) season is one that will go down in the history books.

In the Women’s Super League, Polonia SideOut London claimed their first league title since winning the league and cup double in 2010-11, back when the team was known as Polonia IMKA London. Their counterparts, IBB Polonia London, took the Men’s Super League title for the 2nd year running. Both Super League winners will be given the opportunity to compete in the CEV Champions League, the highest level of club competition in Europe.

In Division 3 of both the Men’s and Women’s leagues, 5 out of 7 new NVL sides stormed to the league title in their debut seasons. Well done to Urmston Grammar, MK City and London Giants in the Women’s league, and Liverpool and UK Armed Forces in the Men’s for achieving this astonishing feat. Urmston Grammar and London Giants have even greater cause for celebration as all three were undefeated on their way to claiming the title.

Congratulations to the league winners and thank you to all the 134 teams that competed in the NVL – the highest level of volleyball competition in England – it has been fascinating to watch the season unfold.

What will really cement this season in the memories of players, coaches, officials and volunteers, is the way it ended abruptly on 16th March. With the outbreak of coronavirus worsening, a decision was taken to bring the season to a close for the health and safety of members, their friends, families and the wider community.

In the weeks that followed that announcement, the Competitions Working Group worked tirelessly to make a fair and transparent decision on how the NVL would be concluded. On 30th April, it was decided that each unplayed fixture would be scored a draw, splitting the available points equally between both sides.

As a result of the appeals process on that decision being completed, we are now able to confirm the season's final league standings and to announce the official winners of each division.

Trophies and a deserved celebration will be organised when we are able to but, in the meanwhile, let’s all congratulate our 2019/20 NVL champions!

Super League:
Men’s – IBB Polonia London (Unbeaten)
Women’s – Polonia SideOut London

Division 1:
Men’s – Leeds RGA
Women’s – Darkstar Derbyshire

Division 2:
Men’s North – University of Nottingham
Men’s South – Weymouth
Women’s North – Coventry & Warwick Riga (Unbeaten)
Women’s South – London Lionhearts (Unbeaten)

Division 3:
Men’s North – Liverpool
Men’s Central – Coventry & Warwick Riga
Men’s South – UK Armed Forces Men
Women’s North – Urmston Grammar (Unbeaten)
Women’s Central – MK City
Women’s South East – London Giants (Unbeaten)
Women’s South West – Southampton (Unbeaten)

1. At the time of this announcement, promotions and relegations for each division were not yet finalised.
2. Details on how the 2020/21 NVL season could progress if/when lockdown restrictions are eased are set to be released shortly.
3. Please can club and team secretaries ensure their contact details on VolleyZone are up to date.

NVL: Title winners for 2019/20 season confirmed